Learn from my mistakes

I should be in Vietnam right now, in Ho Chi Minh. However, I am not. Instead, I am on my couch, with my Chihuahua, writing this. Here is the story…

I thought I had everything planned out. Tickets? Check. Hotel? Check. Vietnam travel guide? Check. Passport and cash? Yup. I thought that was everything. So, we were in the taxi on the way to the airport and B asked, “Do we need a visa or anything?” I felt a pang of uncertainty, “Um, I don’t think so.” I brought out the trusty iPad, and after a quick Google search I realized that we probably weren’t going to make it to Vietnam, at least not that night. I think it was when I read, “If you arrive without a visa, you will be deported,” that I knew it was over.

I applied for a visa throughhttp://www.myvietnamvisa.com/ but they couldn’t process it until Monday at the earliest, so we rescheduled for Monday night. Now I have my fingers crossed that everything will be OK. It actually worked out alright, we will be there in time to catch out flight to Nha Trang, so it won’t be a total loss, as long as we don’t encounter any more obstacles. So, please don’t be like me and make a crazy mistake (I am probably one of the only people in the world who would actually do so) and try to get your travel visa to Vietnam early.

Also, if you want to travel to India, you will need to secure a travel visa first. You can do this online. I will be going to the India Consulate office here in Shanghai to get mine done, and will post how it goes.

So, next time I write I will *hopefully* be doing it from the beach. Wish me luck (and try not to make fun of me too much, thanks)!

Leave a Reply

