I Heart Hot Pot

20120109-222452.jpg

It is no secret that I am obsessed with food. If you have read my other posts you will know that I cannot help myself from mentioning food, multiple times. When I visit a new place one of the first questions I ask is, “Where should I eat?”

Shanghai is a dangerous place for someone like me. Every street is lined with restaurants and street food. Around the city you can find any type of food from any corner of the globe. Shanghai’s community is a vibrant mix of people from every province in China and every continent in the world. People bring their dreams, families, and businesses here. It seems as though the American dream can now be found in China. Every culture brings its own personality to the city, where some places look and taste like Europe, while others look an taste like ancient China.

If it is the taste of ancient China you are looking for, then find a hot pot restaurant near you. The hot pot has been around for over 1,000 years, and although places in the U.S., such as The Melting Pot, have repackaged it and made it “fancy” the original is still the best.

Shanghai can be cruel in winter, and some days the only way to keep you warm and satisfy your appetite is a hot bubbly pot of broth and spicy red peppers. At a typical hot pot restaurant you will be offered a few types of broth, which could be a spicy Sichuan mix or a more tropical and mild coconut mix. Once the broth starts rolling, and the steamy scent fills your nose, it’s time to cook your dinner. You can order just about any type of food that is edible. Meat eaters can eat anything with a tail, wings, four legs or none. Vegetarians will enjoy the plethora of leafy greens, fresh mushrooms, and bean curd of all shapes and sizes. The type of cuisine available will vary by region with coastal cities offering up the fresh catch and landlocked cities and towns serving the four legged beasts that roam nearby.

Each person is in charge of his or her own tasty bites, and one chopstick load at a time, adds them to the savory sauce. The broth only gets better, as the individual flavors of the food infuse into it. If your mouth isn’t watering yet, it will when you visit the sauce counter where you can find peanut sauce, pepper sauce, sa cha sauce, green onions, crushed garlic, cilantro white pepper and more. You can bring back as many bowls as you like. Some taste better alone while others can be mixed in to a delicious concoction that you can drip on your food while it’s still steaming on your plate.

One of the best places I have been for hot pot is Hot Pot King in the French Concession. There the food was fresh and of high quality. The atmosphere is as it should be, full of warmth both from the costumers and the giant pots. Some patrons choose to wear the green apron offered by the restaurant, as it can get messy with all that hot and spicy liquid flying around. They offer an appetizer of thin and crispy flat bread with peanut butter smeared in between. The cost is great too. For a huge meal and the green bottled Tsingdao, it was only 120 RMB for each of us, about $19.

There may be many things about the city that you will find overwhelming at times, but the great thing is that you will always find a comfort food to soothe your soul. For many Chinese who leave their country to work or study abroad, hot pot is one of the foods that will always taste like home.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shardsofchina
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 04:02:18

    I’ve got to be honest I’m not a big fan of hotpot – every now and again I have a really great one and I think “I must do that again!” and then I do and it’s just not all that nice. My wife, who’s Chinese, loves it though – so I suspect you’re right, it’s a Chinese thing. I miss a great shepherd’s pie from back home, or a decent stew – so maybe it’s all cultural. Great post, thank you for sharing.

    Reply

    • travelgirl34
      Jan 10, 2012 @ 07:45:59

      Hi! I agree, a good hot pot has to be done right. There are many foods I find myself missing: deep dish pizza, good sandwiches, cheese, truly authentic Italian food. You can get it here, but of course it isn’t the same. I can’t think of the last time I ate a good shepherd’s pie!

      Thanks for writing!

      Reply

  2. Malou Prestado
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 07:43:27

    I love hot pot. In the Philippines they call that shabu-shabu. Here in Holland, my husband and I do the fondue.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

